Elder Barbara Dumont Hill

Elder, Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg

A First Nations Algonquin born on the Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg Reserve, Barbara will provide advisory support and ceremonial services throughout the duration of this research program. She helped developed the program’s conceptual and methodological approach based on her traditional teachings of the four elements.


The Co-Directors of A SHARED Future are Dr. Heather Castleden, Canada Research Chair in Reconciling Relations for Health, Environments, and Communities (2016-20) at Queen’s University. and Dr. Diana Lewis, Assistant Professor at Western University.

Programmatic Steering Committee

The Programmatic Steering Committee (PSC) is comprised of eight members that each serve as the Principal Investigator on one or more projects, and are affiliated with a Canadian academic institution. The PSC is the primary governing body for A SHARED Future on all non-financial matters (The Executive Body), and is bound to the terms of reference

Research Associates

The International Advisory Committee is comprised of academic scholars, private consultants, and organizational representatives from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Sweden, and The United States. This committee meets bi-annually via teleconference, where participants share their regional-specific experiences through round table discussions on various topics, as well as providing general updates to the research team.